UMPIRES

JOB DESCRIPTION

Reporting to the Head Umpire, we are looking for many Umpires.

RESPONSABILITIES

Control, apply and enforce the rules of games played between teams that are members of Baseball Québec.

REQUIREMENTS

  • Be at lease 13 years old during the calendar year;

  • Have knowledge of the rules of baseball;

  • Complete and pass a mandatory 1 to 2-day training course to obtain accreditation;

  • Good command of French. English will be an asset; and

  • Must be available on weekday evenings and sometimes on weekends.

SALARY

Depending on the category and level of the officiated games and the ranks and years of experience obtained by the candidate. For more details, see the price list for the 2018 season.

If you are interested, send us your application by completing the application form, and send it to our Head Umpire.

Please also remember that your involvement as a baseball player takes precedence over your involvement as an umpire. Arrange to give your availability outside of the training and game periods of your team.

COURSES FOR UMPIRES

For courses available to umpires (level 1, 2 or 3), visit the Lac St-Louis Umpire page on the Quebec Baseball website. For your information, the courses will be held in April or May. This course will be paid for by CBSL, if you umpire a minimum number of games as an official during the summer (follow-up will be done by the Umpire Scheduler).

Resolution adopted by the CBSL on January 2017

For Level 3 online umpire examinations, CBSL will pay according to the candidate's success rate, i.e. the first attempt at 100%, the second at 50% and the subsequent ones at 0%.

EQUIPMENT
DRESS CODE
  • Navy blue cap with Baseball Quebec logo (provided) 
  • Naby blue polo shirt (provided)
  • Dark grey pants (not provided)
  • Black belt (not provided) 
  • Black socks (not provided)
  • Navy blue or black bag for baseballs (provided)
  • Black shoes, with or without cleats (not provided)

If you umpire a minimum number of games during the summer (follow-up will be done by the Umpire Scheduler), CBSL will provide and pay for your cap, polo and referee kit (broom and counter) in your rookie year and the Head Umpire will evaluate each request individually for the following seasons. Normally, you will have to pay for any additional items.

Referees must also have the following equipment when officiating behind the plate: mask, chest protector and shin pads. For those who don't want to buy their own equipment, there is usually a set available in each baseball park (please leave it on site after each game).

Resolution adopted by the CBSL in April 2018

To pay for course and uniform/equipment fees, a minimum commitment of eight games (= season + tournament + LSL Regional + DPSL Championships) will be required by CBSL for each umpire or your post-dated cheque for $75 (dated for September 1 of the current year), which will be collected by the Head Umpire or Scorekeeper Scheduler, as the case may be, before the start of the season, will be deposited at the end of the summer. No official will be given games by the Umpire Scheduler without submitting their cheque. In this way, the same person can be both umpire and scorekeeper during the summer as long as he or she respects the minimum of eight games officiated separately as an umpire or scorekeeper. In the same vein, a deposit of $120 (with the same conditions mentioned above) will be requested from referees wishing to borrow equipment for the summer.

TOOLS

Application Form

Umpire Course Registration (Lac St-Louis)

Baseball Quebec Umpire Site (in French only)

CBSL Umpire Guide (in French only)

2019 Baseball Quebec Rules

2019 Baseball Canada Rules

Lac St-Louis Rules

DPSL Rules

BWISL Rules

2019 Umpire Payrate

Game Report (in French only)

THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS/PARTNERS

Desjardins.jpg

ARBITRES

DESCRIPTION DE POSTE D'ARBITRE

Relevant de l'Arbitre-chef, nous sommes à la recherche de plusieurs Arbitres.

DESCRIPTION DES RESPONSABILITÉS

Contrôler et appliquer et faire respecter les règles du jeu lors des parties disputées entre des équipes qui adhèrent à Baseball Québec.

EXIGENCES

  • Avoir au moins 13 ans au cours de l'année ;

  • Posséder une connaissance des règles du jeu du baseball ;

  • Suivre et réussir une formation obligatoire de 1-2 jours pour obtenir une accréditation ;

  • Bonne maîtrise du français. L'anglais sera un atout ; et

  • Doit être disponible les soirs de semaine et parfois les fins de semaine.

RÉMUNÉRATION

En fonction de la catégorie et classe des parties officiées ainsi que des grades et années d'expérience obtenues par le(a) candidat(e). Pour plus détails, voir la grille de tarifs pour la saison 2018.

Si cela vous intéresse, envoyez-nous votre candidature en remplisant la fiche candidature, et envoyer le à notre Arbitre-chef.

Veuillez aussi vous rappeler que votre engagement comme joueur(se) de baseball prime sur celle d'arbitre. Arrangez-vous pour donner vos disponibilités à l'extérieur des périodes des entrainements et des parties de votre équipe.

COURS D'ARBITRE

Pour les cours disponibles aux arbitres (niveau 1, 2 ou 3), visitez la page Arbitre Lac St-Louis sur le site internet de Baseball Québec. À titre de renseignement, les cours auront lieu en avril ou mai. Ce cours sera payé par CBSL, si vous faites un minimum de parties comme officiel durant l'été (le suivi sera fait par le répartiteur).

Résolution du CBSL adoptée en janvier 2017

Pour les examens d'arbitres de niveau 3 en ligne, CBSL va payer selon le taux de réussite du candidat, soit le 1er essai à 100 %, le 2e à 50 % et les suivants à 0 %.

ÉQUIPEMENTS
CODE VESTIMENTAIRE
  • Casquette marine avec logo de Baseball Québec (fourni) 
  • Polo bleu marine (fourni) 
  • Pantalons gris foncé (non fourni) 
  • Ceinture noir (non fourni) 
  • Bas noirs (non fourni) 
  • Sac à balles bleu marine ou noir (fourni)
  • Souliers noirs avec crampons ou non (non fourni)
Si vous faites un minimum de parties comme officiel durant l'été (le suivi sera fait par le répartiteur des arbitres), CBSL va fournir et payer pour votre casquette, polo et kit d'arbitre (balai et compteur) lors de votre année recrue et l'arbitre en chef évaluera chaque demande individuellement pour les saisons suivantes. Normalement, vous devrez payer pour tout item supplémentaire.
Les arbitres doivent avoir aussi les équipements suivants lorsqu'ils officient derrière le marbre = masque, plastron et jambières. Pour ceux qui ne veulent pas en acheter, il y a normalement un set disponible dans chaque parc de baseball (à laisser sur place après chaque partie svp).

Résolution du CBSL adoptée en avril 2018

Pour payer les frais reliés aux cours et aux uniformes/équipements, un engagement minimum de huit parties (= saison+ tournoi + Régionaux LSL+ Championnats DPSL) sera exigée par CBSL pour chaque officiel sinon votre chèque de 75$ postdaté au 1er septembre de l’année en cours - ramassé avant le début de la saison par l’arbitre en chef ou le marqueur en chef selon le cas - sera déposé à la fin de l’été. Aucun officiel ne se fera donner des parties par le répartiteur sans avoir reçu leur chèque. De cette façon, une même personne pourra ainsi être à la fois arbitre et marqueur durant l’été tant qu’il respecte le minimum de huit parties officiées séparément comme arbitre et comme marqueur. Dans la même ligne de pensée, un dépôt de 120$ (avec les mêmes conditions citées précédemment) sera demandé aux arbitres désirant se faire prêter un équipement pour l’été.

OUTILS

Fiche du candidat(e)

Inscription à un stage Arbitre (Lac St-Louis)

Page d'Arbitre - Baseball Québec

Guide de l'Arbitre CBSL

Règlements Baseball Québec 2019

Règlements Baseball Canada 2019

Règlements Ligue Lac St-Louis

Règlements Ligue DPSL

Règlements Ligue BWISL

Tarifs d'Arbitre 2019

Rapport du match

MERCI À NOS COMMANDITAIRES/PARTENAIRES

Desjardins.jpg